Grandma’s Potato Salad

IMG_0867INGREDIENTS
5 or 6 Large Potatoes, cleaned
12 eggs, hard boiled
2 medium bell peppers, chopped (you can use any color I tend to mix Red & Yellow if I can get yellow. Use small bell peppers if you use red, green, and yellow)
1 large red onion, chopped
Salt to taste
Lawry’s Seasoned Pepper to taste (I usually use the whole bottle by the time I’m done)
Paprika for topping
1 jar mayonnaise
Lemon juice as needed

DIRECTIONS
1. Leaving the skins on, boil potatoes. Once they are done, allow them to cool enough that you can hold them. Carefully peel the skins off. Slice the potatoes into circles.
2. Peel and chop all but 4 or 5 eggs.
3. In a large bowl, put a layer of potatoes, some of the chopped egg, onions and peppers, salt and pepper. Add a large dollop of mayo and stir til mixed. Repeat until you have used up all your ingredients.
4. Slice the last 4 eggs and lay them on top of the potato salad, and sprinkle with paprika.

You can begin to eat immediately, but for the best taste, allow it to sit refrigerated for 2-3 hours.

Submitted by Lisa Bradley
Original Recipe by Hilda (Eisman) Jones

===================================================
This recipe was originally by my grandmother, and given to my mother, whom added a few things of her own to it (like the Seasoned Pepper, I’m sure). I’ve left it pretty much how it was given to me.

Download & Print this recipe.

2 thoughts on “Grandma’s Potato Salad

  1. This year when I made it for Easter, I managed to get an Orange bell pepper, and so I thought it rather pretty to have red, yellow and orange in the potato salad.

  2. Baked Potato Option!!!

    I did this and got half my usual amount of potato salad on the 4th of July (today) and it was perfect.

    Take 2 large baking potatoes. Wash the dirt off the skin. Stab a few times all around with a fork. Rub down with butter. Wrap in foil. Bake.

    We had the oven at 375 and I let them bake for about an hour. I didn’t want them too soft.

    Open the foil and allow them to cool to room temp (do not put in the fridge). Now, you can peel them or not, and proceed to make the salad as usual.

    Since Seasoned Pepper is hard to find here (so if someone could send me several bottles I’d be ever so grateful) so I just used Mrs. Dash table blend. It came out really good!!!

Leave a Reply

