Spicy, Smokey Sweet BBQ Sauce

I just made this for the first time tonight. We were making ribs and wanted to put a coat of BBQ sauce on at the end, as a bit of a glaze, but alas, we were out of BBQ sauce. I didn’t feel like running to the store, so I just made my own. You can modify it to your liking (if you do, please share it with me) but here it is. It’s pretty simple, and I’m sure there are dozens out there very similar to it, but the secret is in my spice rub, which I will be keeping a secret 😛

This one is EXCELLENT for Beef, but also good on pork ribs. I found it too strong for chicken, turkey, or any pork other than ribs.

INGREDIENTS

1 Tablespoon Soy Sauce
1 Table Spoon Teriyaki Sauce
3 Tablespoons Liquid Smoke (we like the smokey flavor)
2 Tablespoons Honey
2 Tablespoons Dark Brown Sugar
2 Tablespoons Dry Rub
1/2 Tablespoon Rice Vinegar (it’s what I prefer)
1/2 Cup Yellow Mustard (I use Frenches)
2 Cups Ketchup (I use Heinz 57)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Mix ingredients in a sauce pan. Bring to boil over Medium heat.
  2. Reduce heat and cover. Let simmer (the longer the better, max of 60 minutes), stirring occassionally.
  3. It’s now ready to use.

Allow it to cool to room temp before you bottle/jar it.

AWESOME over pork ribs!!

Recipe by Lisa Bradley

Download & Print this recipe.

Leave a Reply

