Pumpkin Spice Granola Bars

I wanted to make a Thankgiving-ish treat for my daughter to take to class for a snack to share. I already knew I wanted to make some granola bars, so I started searching for idea’s and found one that sounded good, though I needed to tweak it, of course, so here is my tweaked recipe. Enjoy! Once again, I doubled the recipe when I made it.

INGREDIENTS
3 1/4 cups old fashioned oats
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon clove
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1/4 cup applesauce
1/4 cup honey
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 package Craisins
9×9 cookie sheet

DIRECTIONS
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray baking pan with cooking spray and set aside.

2. In a large bowl, mix oats, spices (not brown sugar), and salt together. Set aside.

3. In a medium bowl, whisk brown sugar, pumpkin, applesauce, honey, and vanilla extract until smooth. Pour over oats and stir well, until all of the oats are moist. Stir in craisins. I found it easier to mix with my bare hands to make sure it was well mixed.

4. Evenly press oat mixture into prepared pan. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until golden brown. The pumpkin keeps the bars moist, so make sure they are golden and set-you don’t want them to be under baked. Remove from oven and let cool on a wire rack for 5 minutes.

5. Using a sharp knife, cut into bars. Remove from pan and let cool completely.

Since I doubled it, I used a roughly 15 x 10 throw away cookie sheet. I got EXACTLY 25 little bars when I cut it up. They were small bars, but that’s fine as they are for 3-5 year old, and they are whole grain oats so they’ll be filling. I had enough left over to put into a round pie tray (only thing small enough I had) and this gave me about 6 more bars to keep at home for us. YUM!

Tweaked Recipe by Lisa Bradley
Original Recipe

Download & Print this recipe.

Leave a Reply

